EPA Ecoregions – Level I

I’m no expert on ecoregions, but I ran across some cool maps put out by the EPA that define the continent by various ecoregions. Like I said, I’m no expert, so we can learn about them together. It looks like they’re classified into a few levels with each level getting more specific as it goes. Level I is the big picture with just 15 ecoregions for the entire continent. This is, of course, overly simplistic, but it serves as a good starting point.

The Great Plains Trail passes through four of these regions, but mostly stays in (big surprise) the Great Plains ecoregion. The other three it touches are the Northwestern Forested Mountains of which the Black Hills are a part, as well as the North American Deserts, and the Temperate Sierras in southern New Mexico and in the Guadalupe Mountains of western Texas respectively.

The above picture is probably useless.  Here is a link to the PDF of the map:  EPA Ecoregions Map

About greatplainstrail

Building the Great Plains Trail.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s